• English Learner (EL) Program 

    EL Logo


  • WIDA - World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment

    WIDA is a consortium of states dedicated to the design and implementation of high standards and equitable educational opportunities for English language learners.  The State of Minnesota has adopted the WIDA English Language Development standards, and uses WIDA's assessment system for monitoring the progress of English Learners. Learn more at the WIDA website.



    WIDA Assessments
    The State of Minnesota has adopted WIDA's assessments for annual measurement of students' progress. ELs will take the ACCESS (Assessing Comprehension and Communication in English State-to-State) test each spring. ACCESS test results are sent home in the fall of the following year. The MODEL (Measure of Developing English Language), WIDA's tool for on-going progress monitoring may also be given. Scores from these tests will be used as part of the identification process. Please see the links below for information from the WIDA website.
    ACCESS Testing

    MODEL Testing

    English Language Proficiency Levels

    As defined by WIDA
    Level 1 - Entering
    Level 2 - Emerging
    Level 3 - Developing
    Level 4 - Expanding
    Level 5 - Bridging
    Level 6 - Reaching

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.